top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicholette

Homebody Review: Nutricook Rapid Egg Cooker

About a month ago, I was catching up with a friend online (the only COVID-19-proof way of catching up with friends these days), and she asked me if I was still blogging. I said no, because like a responsible human being, my daily routine is now composed of home-office-home (excepting weekends when it’s home-home-home all the way). Then she suggested I blog about staying home, and I thought, “Why not?” Perfect timing too with the arrival of my new Nutricook Rapid Egg Cooker.

Now, you might be wondering, “Why would anybody need an egg cooker?” It’s as easy as boiling a pot and leaving the eggs in there anywhere between 15-20 minutes, right? Wrong! When you live with 10 other people and share 1 kitchen stove, you can go months without eggs for a weekend breakfast. So my decision to order an egg cooker was not born out of ignorance on how to cook eggs or laziness or compulsive online shopping disorder, but rather out of communal-living necessity. I need my eggs asap!

Now that I’ve justified my purchase, let’s get on with the product review. Nutricook Rapid Egg Cooker, as the brand name suggests, is made by the same company as Nutribullet (one of the top blender manufacturers these days). Am I a brand-conscious person? Not really. I’m more of a value-conscious person. While shopping for a sports blender, I did consider Nutribullet because of all the positive reviews online, but I also work in advertising, so I know how bandwagon mentality works. I ended up with a lesser-known brand called Sencor (which merits another review on its own — but I digress). Back to Nutricook, they sell a range of electric cooking products from smart pots to airfryers to airfryer-oven hybrids, all of which I would definitely consider buying, though not right now. The Nutricook Rapid Egg Cooker, on the other hand, costs a fraction less than the rest of the Nutricook range at just AED69 (according to the price listed on their UAE website). I ordered mine on Noon.com for AED58. Compared to other Brand X Egg Cookers, Nutricook Rapid Egg Cooker is “expensive”, but it also comes with a lot of neat features and accessories, which I will now be getting to:

  1. It’s versatile. It doesn’t just make boiled eggs but omelets and poached eggs (whatever that is) as well!

  2. It comes with fool-proof accessories. It includes an egg tray which fits up to 7 eggs, an egg bowl which fits up to 3 scrambled eggs and my personal favorite: a measuring cup with water indicator based on the number of eggs you cook and how soft or hard you want them cooked. Genius!

  1. It’s compact. You’d think with all these accessories, this product will take up a lot of room but nope. It’s incredibly compact and sits comfortable beside an electric kettle (another must-have).

  2. It’s quick. I mean, it is called a “Rapid” Egg Cooker, but it doesn’t just cook fast, it cleans fast as well. You only need to rinse a handful of accessories and wipe the cooking base and you’re done!

  3. It makes the perfect eggs every time. I made boiled eggs and omelets (I don’t eat poached eggs), and they all came out well-cooked inside and out.

The usual concern with these “smart” cooking devices is, “Does it taste the same as stove-cooked eggs?” Afted all, you’re shelling out (hehe pun) between AED50-70 on this thing, when you can just use the pot you already have in the kitchen. The Nutricook Rapid Egg Cooker is not a necessity, strictly speaking, but when you do have one, you can’t live without it.

15 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page